Indian Railway main logo Welcome to Indian Railways View Content in Hindi
View Content in Hindi
National Emblem of India

About CLW


External Links

News & Recruitment

Vendor Information

Tender Information

Contact Us

About CLW
      Traction Motors

SMS Inquiry

Bookmark Mail this page Print this page
Traction Motors


CLW started Traction Motor manufacture from 1969 with Alsthom design of MG-1580 motors and TAO-659 motors and switched over to HS15250A, 850 HP Traction Motors for which technology was received from Hitachi, Japan. HS15250A Traction Motor production started in 1988-89. *

Now with the advent of three phase technology of locomotives from Bombardier Transportation, Switzerland, CLW has geared up to manufacture 1000 HP and 1500 HP state-of-the-art 3- Phase Traction Motors for freight (WAG-9) and passenger (WAP-5 & WAP-7) locomotives. 

The different type of Traction Motors manufactured at CLW are following:-


3-Phase Tracation Motors type 6FRA6068 for WAG-9 and WAP-7 locomotives & 6FXA7059 for WAP-5 locomotive are being manufactured indigenously by CLW since the financial year 1998-99 & 1999-2000 respectively.With the production of 3-phase Traction Motor,CLW has entered the era of state of the art,3-phase technology.


   (3-phaseTM type 6FRA6068)                     (3-phaseTM type 6FXA 7059)

*  Produciton of Hiachi Traction Motor was stopped due to discontinuation of production of  conventional Electric  Locomotive type WAP-4/ WAG-7 from 2016-17. 






Source : Welcome to CLW Official Website ! CMS Team Last Reviewed on: 16-01-2024  

  Admin Login | Site Map | Contact Us | RTI | Disclaimer | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy Valid CSS! Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict

© 2016  All Rights Reserved.

This is the Portal of Indian Railways, developed with an objective to enable a single window access to information and services being provided by the various Indian Railways entities. The content in this Portal is the result of a collaborative effort of various Indian Railways Entities and Departments Maintained by CRIS, Ministry of Railways, Government of India.